About Us

Friends of Wisconsin State Parks is a non-profit organization that is made up of a volunteer Board of Directors with 18 current members, 80+ local Friends groups, and a general membership from all across Wisconsin. These groups and individuals work together to preserve, protect, and enhance the state parks, trails, recreation areas and forests around Wisconsin by providing on-the-ground work, monetary support, and advocacy for these valuable areas.

The Friends of Wisconsin State Park Board has two main goals:

  • support the local Friends groups 
  • and strengthen and maintain its relationship with the DNR. 
Each year, local Friends groups can apply for money for development projects through the Stewardship Grant Program and nature programs funded by the Affinity Card Grant Program.

Board of Directors- Officers
The  2013 officers for the Board of Directors are from around Wisconsin and include:
  • President: Roger Putnam, Madison
  • Vice President:  Bill Zager, Amery
  • Secretary: Tim Lovett, Oconomowoc
  • Treasurer: Jan Primus, Madison
Board of Directors
The following individuals serve on the Board of Directors:
  • Jon Beadell, Mequon
  • Robert Gosse, Milwaukee
  • Terry Jensen, Hartford
  • Brenna Jones, Madison
  • Bill Lunney, Madison
  • Randall Paske, Prairie du Chien
  • Rick Patzke, Waupaca
  • Waldo Peterson, Madison
  • Michael Raymaker, Green Bay
  • Tracey Schwalbe, New Glarus
  • Jack Travis, Ellison Bay
  • Jon Warren, Fitchburg
  • Mike Willman, Merrill
  • Amesia Xiong, La Crosse
The Friends of Wisconsin State Parks Board of Directors is supported by a committed group of individuals throughout the DNR.  While every Friends group is supported directly by the staff at the property that they represent, a smaller number of people within the Bureau of Parks & Recreation provide direct support and contact with the FWSP Board:
  • Patricia Loosen, Friends Group Coordinator
  • Peter Biermeier, Operations & Planning Section Chief
  • Dan Schuller, State Parks Director

The FWSP Board members also serve on one or more committees.  The current committees are:
  • Executive Committee
  • Policy Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Outreach Committee
  • Membership and Awards Committee
  • Nominations Committee
  • Endowment Committee